

## THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PSYCHIATRISTS

111 E. Wacker Drive Phone 312.938.8840 Suite 1440 Fax 312.938.8845 Chicago, IL 60601 www.ACPsych.org

\*\*\*For Immediate Release\*\*\*

### **Contact:**

Angel Waszak angel@ACPsych.org 312.938.8840, ext. 10

# THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PSYCHIATRISTS SELECTS 2024 LAUGHLIN FELLOWS:

#### Program Honors Top Psychiatry Residents, Future Leaders

**Chicago, March 2024** The American College of Psychiatrists has announced the 2024 recipients of its prestigious Laughlin Fellowship.

Named after College founder, Henry P. Laughlin, M.D., the Fellowship program was launched in 1976 to recognize outstanding accomplishments by psychiatry residents in the United States and Canada. Each year, The College selects 12 residents deemed most likely to make a significant future contribution to the field of psychiatry. The College provides a stipend for the Laughlin Fellows to attend two of the The College's Annual Meetings and participate in all educational functions, allowing them to interact with College Members, as well as their peers in other residency programs.

Elizabeth Kieff, M.D., Chair of the Laughlin Fellowship Selection Committee said, "We are thrilled to have this cohort of exceptional Fellows to add to the conversation and enrichment of their peers and to the College. They bring a wealth of life experiences, interests, and achievements to their impressive work in our field. We hope you will take the time to meet and get to know them over the next two years. I'm deeply appreciative of the time, effort, and thoughtful approach of the members of the Laughlin Selection Committee. Without them, the Fellowship would not be successful in achieving its goals of supporting and nourishing future leaders in our field."

Following are the 2024 Laughlin Fellows:

**Pranav Aurora, M.D., ScM, DrPH (candidate)**, is a fourth-year psychiatry resident and the Academic Chief Resident at SUNY Downstate in Brooklyn, New York.

**Tanner Bommersbach, M.D., M.P.H.**, is a child and adolescent psychiatry fellow at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.

Cynthia He, M.D., Ph.D., is a forensic psychiatry fellow at the University of California, San Francisco.

**Bushra M. Khan, M.D., M.P.H., F.R.C.P.C.,** is a subspecialty resident in forensic psychiatry at the University of Toronto in Canada.

**Alex Luna, M.D.**, is a fourth-year psychiatry resident in combined adult and child/adolescent psychiatry at New York Presbyterian Hospital in New York, New York.

**Avani K. Patel, M.D., MHA,** is a fourth-year psychiatry resident at the Department of Psychiatry & Human Behavior at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson, Mississippi.

**Kelsey Priest, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.,** is a third-year psychiatry resident and inpatient chief resident at Stanford University in Stanford, California.

**Gregg A. Robbins-Welty, M.D., M.S.,** is a chief resident of the combined Internal Medicine and Psychiatry Residency Program at Duke University Hospital in Durham, North Carolina.

**Sofia Sami, M.D., B.A.,** is a fourth-year psychiatry resident, former perinatal and reproductive psychiatry fellow, and former education chief at University of Illinois Chicago.

George E. Sayde, M.D., M.P.H., is currently completing a clinical and research fellowship in consultation-liaison psychiatry, along with advanced training in psychodynamic psychotherapy at Columbia University in New York, New York.

**Morgan N. Schmidt, M.D.,** is a fourth-year psychiatry chief resident and active-duty U.S. Navy lieutenant at Naval Medical Center-San Diego.

**German E. Velez, M.D.**, is a first-year fellow in child and adolescent psychiatry at New York-Presbyterian (Columbia/Cornell) in New York, New York.

### The American College of Psychiatrists

Founded on May 8, 1963, in St. Louis, Missouri, The American College of Psychiatrists is a not-for-profit honorary association dedicated to providing continuing education to its Members, promoting the latest advances in the specialty, and supporting the highest standards in psychiatry. Membership in The College is limited to 750 practicing psychiatrists who have demonstrated outstanding competence and national recognition in the field of psychiatry. For more information, visit The College Web site at www.ACPsych.org.