#### For Immediate Release



Media Contact:
Patrick Reilly
Manager, Communications
preilly@abpn.com

# American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology Announces 2023 Board of Directors

January 25, 2023, Deerfield, III. --- The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. (ABPN) announces its 2023 Board of Directors. The board's term runs from January through December 2023.



Joan M. Anzia, MD 2023 Board Chair of the ABPN



Allison Brashear, MD, MBA 2023 Vice Chair of the ABPN

## Joan M. Anzia, MD, elected ABPN Chair

Dr. Joan M. Anzia is Vice Chair for Education and Residency Training Director in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Northwestern University's Feinberg

School of Medicine in Chicago, III. She also serves as the Physician Health Liaison for Northwestern Medicine and is a member of the Graduate Medical Education Committee. She is certified by the ABPN in Psychiatry and participates in continuing certification. As Chair of the ABPN, Dr. Anzia also serves as Chair of the Psychiatry Council and many other ABPN Committees.

She also serves as the liaison for the American Board of Family Medicine, American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) Committee on Continuing Certification and as the ABMS Meeting Attendee. Dr. Anzia is a Fellow and Chair of the Finance Committee for the American College of Physicians, a Past President of the Association of Academic Psychiatry, and a Past President of the Illinois Psychiatric Society.

Dr. Anzia succeeds John B. Bodensteiner, MD, a nationally recognized child neurologist who practiced for many years at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn.

### Allison Brashear, MD, MBA, elected ABPN Vice Chair

Dr. Brashear is Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo in Buffalo, N.Y. She is an internationally renowned neurologist and researcher whose work has fundamentally transformed the way spasticity and dystonia are treated. A powerful advocate for promoting diverse leaders in medicine, Dr. Brashear was instrumental in creating one of the first national leadership programs in neurology for women.

She is certified by the ABPN in Neurology and participates in continuing certification. As Vice Chair of the ABPN, Dr. Brashear also serves as Chair of the Neurology Council and many other ABPN Committees.

She is also the ABPN liaison to the Leadership Council of Neurological Societies, the Association of University Professors of Neurology (AUPN), and American Neurological Association (ANA). Dr. Brashear is a trustee of the McKnight Brain Research Foundation and has served on the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) Board of Directors, the ANA Board of Directors, and the AUPN Board of Directors.

Dr. Brashear succeeds Jeffrey M. Lyness, MD, formerly the Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry in Rochester, N.Y.

Dr. Lyness became President and CEO of the ABPN on Jan. 1, 2023, succeeding Larry R. Faulkner, MD, who retired after serving 16 years with the ABPN.

"The ABPN will be extraordinarily well served by Dr. Joan Anzia as its Chair and Dr. Allison Brashear as its Vice Chair," Dr. Lyness said. "They have been wonderful directors over the past eight years, drawing on superb insights and skills gained over their respective careers as physician and leaders. I am excited to work with them in their new roles this year."

### **New to the ABPN Board**

The ABPN welcomes two new board members in 2023. **Sandra M. DeJong, MD**, **MSc**, is a Senior Consultant in the Department of Psychiatry at Cambridge Health Alliance and Associate Professor, part time, at Harvard Medical School in Boston, Mass. Dr. DeJong is certified by the ABPN in Psychiatry and participates in continuing certification.

**Benn E. Smith, MD**, is Associate Professor of Neurology at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science in Scottsdale, Ariz., and Director of the Sensory Laboratory and a Consultant for the Department of Neurology at the Mayo Clinic. Dr. Smith is certified by the ABPN in Neurology and participates in continuing certification.

"I am most pleased to welcome Drs. Sandra DeJong and Benn Smith to our board this year," Dr. Lyness said. "Each of them brings remarkable experience and proven abilities to their service as directors for the ABPN, and already they have begun to work closely with the other directors and our senior staff leaders."

Additional members of the Executive Committee include Josepha A. Cheong, MD, Board Secretary; Jaffar Khan, MD, Board Treasurer; Terrence L. Cascino, MD, Board Memberat-Large; and Christopher R. Thomas, MD, Board Member-at-Large.

For the ABPN, the specialties of both psychiatry and neurology are represented on its board of directors.

In addition to Dr. Brashear, the 2023 ABPN Neurology Directors include:

- Imran I. Ali, MD
- Amy Brooks-Kayal, MD
- Terrence L. Cascino, MD
- Ericka P. Greene, MD
- Jaffar Khan, MD
- Steven L. Lewis, MD
- Nina F. Schor, MD, PhD
- Benn E. Smith, MD

In addition to Dr. Anzia, the 2023 ABPN Psychiatry Directors include:

- Sheldon Benjamin, MD
- Robert J. Boland, MD
- Josepha A. Cheong, MD
- Sandra M. DeJong, MD
- David C. Henderson, MD
- Andrea G. Stolar, MD
- Christopher R. Thomas, MD

About the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc.

The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to serving the public interest and the professions of psychiatry and neurology by promoting excellence in practice through certification and maintenance of certification processes.

For more information, please visit our website at <a href="www.abpn.com">www.abpn.com</a> or contact us at <a href="questions@abpn.com">questions@abpn.com</a>.

Connect with us





ABPN | 7 Parkway North, Deerfield, IL 60015

<u>Unsubscribe hohickey@academicpsychiatry.org</u>

<u>Update Profile | Constant Contact Data Notice</u>

Sent by abpncommunications@abpn.com powered by

