

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PSYCHIATRISTS

111 E. Wacker Drive Phone 312.938.8840 Suite 1440 Fax 312.938.8845 Chicago, IL 60601 www.ACPsych.org

For Immediate Release

Contact:

Angel Waszak angel@ACPsych.org 312.938.8840, ext. 10

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PSYCHIATRISTS SELECTS 2021 LAUGHLIN FELLOWS:

Fellowship Program Honors Top Psychiatry Residents, Future Leaders

Chicago, February 23, 2021– The American College of Psychiatrists has announced the 2021 recipients of its prestigious Laughlin Fellowship.

Named after College founder, Henry P. Laughlin, M.D., the Fellowship program was launched in 1976 to recognize outstanding accomplishments by psychiatry residents in the United States and Canada. Each year, The College selects 12 residents deemed most likely to make a significant future contribution to the field of psychiatry. The College provides a stipend for the Laughlin Fellows to attend The College's Annual Meeting and participate in all educational functions, allowing them to interact with College Members, as well as their peers in other residency programs.

Elizabeth Kieff, M.D., Chair of the Laughlin Fellowship Selection Committee said, "This is a truly inspiring group of Fellows who bring to the cohort a rich diversity of interests, background and life experiences. In these challenging times, we feel lucky to find inspiration from their efforts and energy in the early stages of their careers and are hopeful that the Laughlin Fellowship, and The College as a whole, can continue to support, nourish and engage them throughout what promises to be exceptional careers."

Following are the 2021 Laughlin Fellows:

Christian Bjerre Real, M.D., MMCI, is a psycho-oncology clinical and research fellow at Memorial Sloan Cancer Center in New York, New York.

Abigail Clark, M.D., Ph.D., is a third-year psychiatry resident at the University of California-San Diego.

Matthew L. Edwards, M.D., is a fourth-year and chief resident in psychiatry at Stanford University School of Medicine in Palo Alto, California.

Norah Essali, M.D., is a fifth-year addiction psychiatry fellow at the University of Washington in Seattle, Washington.

Trevor Griffen, M.D., Ph.D., is a first-year child and adolescent psychiatry fellow at Mount Sinai in New York, New York.

Joseph Guillory, M.D., is a fourth-year child and adolescent psychiatry fellow at the University of Texas Southwestern in Dallas, Texas.

Morgan Hardy, M.D., is a fourth-year and chief resident in psychiatry at the University of Texas Health San Antonio/San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium in San Antonio, Texas.

Charles Masaki, M.D., Ph.D., is a fourth-year resident in psychiatry and the chief resident of psychiatric consultation service at the Massachusetts General Hospital/McLean Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts.

Ruth McCann, M.D., is a fourth-year and chief resident in psychiatry at Columbia University/New York Presbyterian/New York State Psychiatric Institute in New York, New York.

Elise S. Scott, M.D., is a fourth-year and chief resident in psychiatry at Vanderbilt University Medical Center in Nashville, Tennessee.

Hira Ayub Silat, MBBS., is a fourth-year psychiatry resident and the outpatient psychiatry chief resident at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina.

Sanya Virani, M.D, M.P.H., is a fifth-year addiction psychiatry fellow at Yale University in West Haven, Connecticut.

The American College of Psychiatrists

Founded on May 8, 1963, in St. Louis, Missouri, The American College of Psychiatrists is a not-for-profit honorary association dedicated to providing continuing education to its Members, promoting the latest advances in the specialty, and supporting the highest standards in psychiatry. Membership in The College is limited to 750 practicing psychiatrists who have demonstrated outstanding competence and national recognition in the field of psychiatry. For more information, visit The College Web site at www.ACPsych.org.