

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PSYCHIATRISTS

111 E. Wacker Drive Phone 312.938.8840 Suite 1440 Fax 312.938.8845 Chicago, IL 60601 www.ACPsych.org

For Immediate Release

Contact:

Angel Waszak angel@ACPsych.org 312.938.8840, ext. 10

THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF PSYCHIATRISTS SELECTS 2020 LAUGHLIN FELLOWS:

Program Honors Top Psychiatry Residents, Future Leaders

Chicago (January 30, 2020)— The American College of Psychiatrists has announced the 2020 recipients of its prestigious Laughlin Fellowship.

Named after College founder, Henry P. Laughlin, M.D., the Fellowship program was launched in 1976 to recognize outstanding accomplishments by psychiatry residents in the United States and Canada. Each year, The College selects 12 residents deemed most likely to make a significant future contribution to the field of psychiatry. The College provides a stipend for the Laughlin Fellows to attend The College's Annual Meeting and participate in all educational functions, allowing them to interact with College Members, as well as their peers in other residency programs.

Laura B. Dunn, M.D., Chair of the Laughlin Fellowship Selection Committee said, "This is an amazing, accomplished, and diverse group of individuals who were selected from a very competitive pool of candidates. As always, we look forward to giving them a very warm College welcome at the Annual Meeting in February. We know that the Membership will enjoy getting to know these impressive future leaders of our field!"

Following are the 2020 Laughlin Fellows:

Yosef Berlow, M.D., Ph.D., is currently a fourth-year psychiatry resident at the Alpert Medical School of Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island.

Evan N. Caporaso, **M.D.**, is currently a fourth-year and chief resident of the psychiatric transition program at the Naval Medical Center in San Diego, California.

Nkechi Conteh, M.B.B.S., M.P.H., is currently a fourth-year psychiatry resident at Duke University Hospital in Durham, North Carolina.

Zachary A. Cordner, M.D, Ph.D., is currently a chief psychiatry resident at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore, Maryland.

Marlon Danilewitz, M.D., is currently a fifth-year research-track, psychiatry resident at the University of British Columbia and an addiction medicine fellow through the British Columbia Center on Substance Use in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

Theresa De Freitas Nicholson, M.D., is currently a fourth-year resident at UT Southwestern in Dallas, Texas.

Juliet Beni Edgcomb, M.D., Ph.D., is currently a fourth-year general psychiatry resident and program chief resident at the UCLA Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior in Los Angeles, California.

Michelle Hume, M.D., Ph.D., is currently a fourth-year and chief resident in the academic track at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in Madison, Wisconsin.

Robert Kleinman, M.D., is currently a fourth-year psychiatry resident at Stanford University in Palo Alto, California.

Laura Suarez Pardo, M.D., is currently a consultation-liaison fellow at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota.

Dustin B. Stephens, M.D. Ph.D., is currently is a fourth-year psychiatry resident at Harbor-UCLA in Torrance, California.

Heather M. Wobbe, D.O., M.B.A., is currently a fourth-year psychiatry resident at University Hospitals-Cleveland Medical Center in Cleveland, Ohio.

The American College of Psychiatrists

Founded on May 8, 1963, in St. Louis, Missouri, The American College of Psychiatrists is a not-for-profit honorary association dedicated to providing continuing education to its Members, promoting the latest advances in the specialty, and supporting the highest standards in psychiatry. Membership in The College is limited to 750 practicing psychiatrists who have demonstrated outstanding competence and national recognition in the field of psychiatry. For more information, visit The College Web site at www.ACPsych.org.