

## Association for Academic Psychiatry

562 S. Hillcrest Avenue Elmhurst, IL 60126 www.academicpsychiatry.org phone 770/222.2265 fax 866/884.6103 lhedrick@academicpsychiatry.org

## AAP Endorses AAMC and AADPRT Statements on Executive Order on Combating Race and Sex Stereotyping

The Association for Academic Psychiatry (AAP) joins with other organizations of medical educators in voicing dissent with the recent Executive Order on Combating Race and Sex Stereotyping <u>click here</u>. We support these organizations' statements voicing similar concerns including those from the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC) <u>click</u> <u>here</u>, and the American Association of the Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training (AADPRT) <u>click here</u>.

We will continue to reinforce the inherent worth and value of individuals regardless of race, ethnicity and gender. While we acknowledge the contributions of individuals and groups in the history of American Medicine including Psychiatry, who furthered principles of equality, inclusion, and anti-racism, we accept that there has also been a history of individual and systemic racism and oppression. We must actively acknowledge and combat structural racism, as we stated jointly <u>click here</u> with other academic psychiatry education associations.

As leaders in academic medicine, we have an obligation to continuing education and training to promote diversity and inclusivity and to combat unconscious biases. We remain committed to raising awareness about structural racism and strongly encourage our community to embrace diversity, inclusivity, equality, and justice in all areas of medical education and practice.

Suzanne B. Murray, MD AAP President (2019-2021)

President Suzanne Murray, MD President-Elect Lewis Krain, MD Vice President Sean Blitzstein, MD Secretary / Treasurer Iljie Fitzgerald, MD Immediate Past President John Teshima, MD, Med

Academic Psychiatry Governance Committee Liaison Michael Jibson, MD, PhD Annual Meeting Program **Committee Chair** Michael Peterson, MD, PhD Master Educator Committee Chair Andreea Seritan, MD Membership Committee Chair Michael Peterson, MD, PhD Resident Psychiatric Educator Award Committee Chair Mara Pheister, MD Career Development **Committee Chair** Jesse Markman MD **Communications Committee Chair** Ali Abbas Asghar-Ali, MD Trainee Committee Chair Mirjana Domakonda, MD

Academic Psychiatry Editor Adam Brenner, MD

Administrative Director Lisa Hedrick